Slight buckled wheel, safe?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
denzarki

Slight buckled wheel, safe?

Post by denzarki »

Hi, I'm not very good with knowing the workings of bikes etc and I definitely can't fix things myself.

I noticed this morning my tyre was "waving" side to side for want of a better phrase. And it's done that before on this wheel so I assumed it was the tyre and went to work (7.5mi)

The ride from the back wheel was slightly bumpy but didn't feel like it was serious.

After getting home (another 7.5 obviously) I checked my wheel by spinning it and putting my finger on the rim of the wheel itself and it is the wheel itself that is causing the wave/wobble. All the spokes feel fine but I assume this means the wheel is slightly buckled?

I can get to the bike shop tomorrow but I need to go to work before that, is this wheel safe to ride on or is it an accident waiting to happen and I should be getting the bus?

Thanks for any advice

I'm a trendy consumer. Just look at my LG-H815 using hovercraft full of eels.
531colin

Re: Slight buckled wheel, safe?

Post by 531colin »

If the wheel goes round past the brake pads and the spokes are tight it will get you to work.
Thread here about wheel truing http://forum.cyclinguk.org/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=111572
gxaustin

Post by gxaustin »

I've ridden with broken spokes several times - there wasn't much choice on most occasions - but once I rode about 65 miles with a spoke missing. The back wheel was a couple of mm out of true but it survived and trued up when I replaced it. The wheels had either 28 or 32 spokes.
oneten

Post by oneten »