Very tight hamstring

blanket

Very tight hamstring

Post by blanket »

I have been cycling to keep fit for the last two years. I have cycled mainly in my lunchtimes so would only do around 50 minutes maximum.

About 10 months ago I teared my hamstring which took a few weeks to heal. After this I "feel" my hamstring more and more earlier in a ride. At one point after I cycled for 35 minutes I would feel it and if I cycled 55 minutes it would be sore maybe slightly strained for a few days or a week or so afterwards. Now I can't cycle for 20 minutes without a "feel" and I cycled for 35 minutes on Saturday and my hamstring is sore.

I stretch/warm my hamstring before I go out cycling but it seems to make minimal difference.

I cycle on all kind of tracks and roads on a mountain bike which is a little too small for me. I have gone on YouTube and looked at a video for How To Perform A Basic Bike Fit by the GCN. And even with the seat at full extension I can't get my leg in the correct position.

I was thinking of buying a second hand road bike which hopefully fits me properly. I am 6ft 1.5 Inches and was looking at one with a 58cm frame.

I was just wondering if anyone had any ideas about what to do apart from paying a physio for their opinion and/or seeing a professional position fitter as I am quite short on cash.

Thanks
Vorpal

Re: Very tight hamstring

Post by Vorpal »

Many bikes these days have a seat tube angle that doesn't really suit getting the saddle back far enough. You can buy a seat post with layback for not too much money.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=104331

Also, you may benefit from stretching after you warm up (20ish minutes, or until you start to sweat), rather than beforehand.
“In some ways, it is easier to be a dissident, for then one is without responsibility.”
― Nelson Mandela, Long Walk to Freedom
AlaninWales

Post by AlaninWales »

blanket wrote:I stretch/warm my hamstring before I go out cycling but it seems to make minimal difference.