Advice on new bike

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Marcin

Advice on new bike

Post by Marcin »

Hi
I have had a Whyte Sussex 2015 for the last two years. Apart from commuting to work, I do some training (in London and whenever I can in Surrey) on it and did a few charity rides including the amazing Prudential ride last month. I'm thinking of keeping this bike for commuting and getting a better one for training/rides.
What would be the next step bike (under £1500)? I'm not that experienced with road bikes - that's why I'm asking here. The two years I've had the Whyte have developed a passion for cycling for me and recently I have been doing more and more training.

Thank you.
Brucey

Re: Advice on new bike

Post by Brucey »

well you have to ask yourself what you are going to use the bike for vs the present one, and in what ways you would like the new bike to perform differently/better vs the present one.

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Marcin

Post by Marcin »

Thank you for your reply. This is the problem. Not being experienced in this stuff, I'm not sure in what areas more expensive bikes are better (to justify the wide range of prices (from £500 to £5000 or more)).

I guess this is a common newbie catch-22 where a newbie asks a vague question (not being able to be more specific due to lack of knowledge on the subject) and other members have difficulty answering the question because they are not sure what the original poster is after.

In a bike for £1500, what exactly could be better/how exactly can it perform better than my £599 Whyte? I know, it could be lighter, what else? What are the common reasons that people upgrade road bikes for?
Vorpal

Post by Vorpal »

I think what Brucey meant is are you going to use it for the same things? Commuting and training?

Are you happy with a road bike, and what do you think you want from an upgrade?