Newbie: need help fixing brakes

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
omarm

Newbie: need help fixing brakes

Post by omarm »

My sons bike brakes need adjusting.
I've seen loooads of videos on youtube and am fairly clued up about adjusting brakes - I think I'm a bit of an expert now!

Problems:

- When the brakes are pressed, one side just stays - it doesnt spring back.
For this, I cant find a single video on youtube addressing the problem (I'm sure there are - just havent found)

- The cable - just doesnt seem to be enough of it. In order to have it so that the brake lever on the handle bar doesnt have to be squeezed too much, then then I have to really close the brake so that the pads are touching - but then the wheel wont run because of the brakes!

See below for a picture:

Thanks.

Omar
Gattonero

Re: Newbie: need help fixing brakes

Post by Gattonero »

For instance, the noodle is not fixed in the correct way in the Rh brake, also it seem that is passing BEHIND the forks??

You're looking to something like this:
The noodle has to pass correctly, in front of the forks, the cable has to be long enough to not pull, yet not too long to form a very big loop.

Once the cable is correct, you have removed a big problem.
Start aligning the brake pads. Ignore the brake lever for the moment, you can setup the pads by undoing their bolt and aligning the pad and pressing the brake arm against the rim. this way, you get the pad correct to the rim, now tighten enough the bolt. Repeat the other side, then adjust the wire so that you have enough clerance between pads and rim, yet the brake lever has the right travel.

It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best,
since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them.
Thus you remember them as they actually are...
omarm

Post by omarm »

thanks for the reply.

YES, the noodle holder was where it was because i was trying to repair. :)
i was following a guide on youtube.