1.5v dynohub

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
NUKe

1.5v dynohub

Post by NUKe »

Anyone have any experience of the new generation of 1.5v hub dynamos for example the shimano deaore Xt dh T&85
or the SP series 8,
Main reason is to use with a small wheel bike. I assuming they will power modern LED lights no problem as they 6v, but less surplus power for phone/ gadget charging not an issue for me.
NUKe

Re: 1.5v dynohub

Post by james01 »

I've had no experience of the low wattage dynamos but on the basis that the standard 6v dynamo front and rear lamp set requires a nominal 3 watts, you should expect poor performance unless you specify lights which have been downgraded accordingly. In view of limited choice of such lights, I don't think low wattage dynamos make a sensible choice at the moment. Incidentally, the slight gain in drag from the lower wattage outfit must be almost immeasurable.
Mick F
Spambuster

Post by Mick F »

No real answer to this question, but a small observation regarding modern LED torches.

We've had an LED torch for some years and it takes three AAA batteries in series = 4.5v nominal. LED Lenser is the make.

Bought a new one a week or so ago and it takes one single AA. LED Lenser also.
It's FAR brighter than the old one ever was and only needs 1.5v nominal. The beam appears to go well over 100yds. £20odd well spent IMHO.

Therefore, why not have a 1.5v bike dynamo?
Mick F. Cornwall
gloomyandy

Post by gloomyandy »

I don't know much about these but I assume this is actually 6V 1.5W not 1.5V?
https://www.rosebikes.com/article/shima ... aid:742795
Brucey

Post by Brucey »

NUKe wrote:Anyone have any experience of the new generation of 1.5v hub dynamos for example the shimano deaore Xt dh T&85 or the SP series 8, Main reason is to use with a small wheel bike. I assuming they will power modern LED lights no problem as they 6v, but less surplus power for phone/ gadget charging not an issue for me.