Handlebars won't steer front wheel - still salvageable?

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
~Art

Handlebars won't steer front wheel - still salvageable?

Post by ~Art »

Hi, folks. I bought a cheap secondhand bike as I only need it for a few months and I'm having some trouble assembling it (it's also my first time assembling a boxed bike so I have no idea what I'm doing, nor the proper terminology as you'll soon come to realise).

One of the first things I noticed when I unboxed the bike was that the bit that connects the handlebars to the rest of the bike was split at the bottom, but, as this is my first time assembling a bike, didn't give it much thought:

The problem is that when I turn the handlebars the wheel doesn't turn at all, even though I screwed the top bit as tight as it would go. When I hold the bottom bit of the tube with the bolt in it and turn the handlebars, the bit I'm holding doesn't turn, just the upper part of the tube.

Am I just being thick about something that's easily fixable or am I better off just getting a refund?
pwa

Re: Handlebars won't steer front wheel - still salvageable?

Post by pwa »

The bit sticking out of the bottom of the Handlebar Stem is a sort of wedge thing that should lock the stem solid inside the Steerer Tube (extension of the Forks) when you tighten the bolt on the top. I'd clean the whole lot first, removing any rust.
drossall

Post by drossall »

I'm confused. That's a fairly common design, as an alternative to a true expander bolt. Screwing the top bolt in tight causes the lower section to go slightly offset from the top section, so that, between them, they grip the inside of the fork column (the tube inside the headset).

As long as the bolt is moving freely in the nut, it should be fine.
freiston

Post by freiston »