Why are the general population resistant to getting fit?

Jon in Sweden

Why are the general population resistant to getting fit?

Post by Jon in Sweden »

It's always been something that's puzzled me that so many people live with very poor levels of fitness and strength and seem to regard any small amount of exercise as being beyond them.

I work as a machine operator in a large sawmill. I cycle 27.5km each way each day. I don't always cycle, but I usually do. I also strength train quite a bit, because I've been a beanpole of a cyclist as a kid, and I don't want to be that again. Functional strength is very important for longevity.

I was chatting to a colleague last week about cycling and it turns out she lives 5km from work but always drives. It's the last 5km of my commute. I asked her whether she'd considered cycling but she laughed and said she'd get completely out of breath on the hill on the way. The route is almost flat and the aforementioned hill is 12m high and 9% at worst (on one side, the other side tops out at 7%).

She's only a touch older than me, not significantly overweight and in good health. For me, had I identified that an activity such as that got me badly out of breath, I would have sought to do something about it. And being out of breath is, in and of itself, not a bad thing.

Many of my other colleagues are in very poor shape too. It's a fairly physically demanding job at times, and I wonder if that plays into it? You come home physically tired from work, don't have the energy to exercise. But because you don't exercise, work is physically tiring. It's a vicious cycle.

Here in Sweden, there is a tax provision for spending on health and fitness (about £250 a year, I think) but I don't know exactly how it works. I've subtly suggested that perhaps the sawmill could offer some sort of fitness programme, perhaps install an on site gym/sauna, something.