Getting a bike into a small car

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Jclm

Getting a bike into a small car

Post by Jclm »

I've bought a Pendleton Brooke bike on eBay. I need to pick it up and transport it in my small car. Does anyone knoe if I can get it in the car without taking the front wheel off? I'm a bit nervous about doing this as I've never done it before.
Richard Fairhurst

Re: Getting a bike into a small car

Post by Richard Fairhurst »

Depends how small your car is: I was always impressed by how much we could fit in our old Citroen Pluriel, but getting even two folding bikes in our current Fiat 500c is a struggle!

Don't be afraid of taking the front wheel off, though. Much better to have to reassemble it afterwards than to bend, strain or break something trying to fit a bike into a space where it won't go. Learned that one the hard way years ago.
cycle.travel - maps, journey-planner, route guides and city guides
gaz

Post by gaz »

Welcome to the forum.

In my opinion you'll need to remove the front wheel to fit it into a small car. The Pendleton Brooke appears to have a quick release front wheel and V-brakes. Don't worry, just understand how simple it is to do and don't rush it.

Watch this, it decribes V-brakes as cantilever but otherwise it's good: https://www.liv-cycling.com/global/camp ... port/19059

Take your time, don't rush and be sure to secure the quick release correctly when you re-install the wheel.

Enjoy your new bike.
High on a cocktail of flossy teacakes and marmalade
Mick F
Spambuster

Post by Mick F »

I can get my Mercian into our Fiat500 ok even with mudguards on.
Drop the back seats and remove the parcel shelf. Front wheel off, and in it goes.
Mick F. Cornwall
Stevek76

Post by Stevek76 »

You'll probably have to take the front wheel off for a small car. Depends on what your small car actually is mind and the frame size.