Cycling in Torbay

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Samwhile

Cycling in Torbay

Post by Samwhile »

Hello I am looking for some advice I have recently purchased a bike and I'm looking at doing some off-road cycling. I am from Torbay and ideally I would like somewhere not too challenging. I am a complete newbie to cycling and me mounting a bike and almost taking out the shelving units in Halfords was the first time I had been on a bike in around 15 years.. (you can see what you are working with here!)

Any recommendations on local (ish) places to go? I don't mind travelling a little further afield.

So far I have on my list haldon forest and Torbay velopark. I'm also aware of the camel trail in Cornwall. Are there any other off road experiences.. preferably trails for an absolute novice

Thank you
NATURAL ANKLING

Re: Cycling in Torbay

Post by NATURAL ANKLING »

Hi,
Welcome to the best place to live in the country by far :D
Haldon is good for getting confidence and is safe too.

I would ask how off roading you want to do also :?:
You will have to move out of Torbay for anything other than tarmac for sure.
Torquay to Newton Abbot to Bovey Tracy has some off road cycle path too, nice and flat with some roads.
There is Dawlish to Exe trail and on to Exeter and on to Exmouth, pleasant mostly off the road but soft cycle paths if that is what you want?
Dartmoor is probably best, Plym valley to tavistock, up hill but good and safe.
The Granit Cycleway, Oakhampton to Lydford, easy pleasant and safe all cyclepath.

Then there is many disused railways on Dartmoor, these are a bit rougher and challenging, views are unsurpassed for sure, many many more on Dartmoor if you also do the bridleways and tracks, these are more challenging but rewarding.
Good luck.
Oh, velo park that's for kiddys :)

No thing I have mentioned is hard core for sure so don't be put off.
NA Thinks Just End 2 End Return + Bivvy - Some day Soon I hope
You'll Still Find Me At The Top Of A Hill