New to cycling, what do I need?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
maxp779

New to cycling, what do I need?

Post by maxp779 »

Ill be commuting to work in Glasgow. Its a 26 mile round trip, I can cut it to 18 when im more confident on the roads but for now its the safe route.

I have a bike (genesis smithfield 2015) :D It comes with a pannier rack and mudguards. So I guess ill need a bag for that rack... What else?

Repair tools? Lock? Pump? Helmet? Bag to cover it while its parked outside work? I'm new to this so suggestions are welcome.
thirdcrank

Re: New to cycling, what do I need?

Post by thirdcrank »

If you intend doing this in all weathers you need some decent togs. Opinions vary about what's suitable but in cold, wet weather, you'll be miserable if you aren't well wrapped up on a ride of this length which might typically take an hour each way.

Another thing is time. In addition to riding time, you need to allow time for getting ready for riding and then for work when you get there. Also, allow time for sorting out anything wrong with the bike immediately when you get home, so you are ready for the off on the next working day.

Thirteen miles each way is quite a ride if you do it every day.
gaz

Post by gaz »

Bag to carry your stuff in, size of bag will be determined by volume of stuff. Stuff may include everything listed below plus rain jacket, gloves, etc, change of clothes for working in, wet wipes (for cleaning hands after a puncture), sandwiches, anything you need to do your work.

Lights, if planning to commute after dark.

Lock(s).

Puncture repair kit, spare tube, tyre levers and pump(preferably one that fits in the bag so that you don't leave it on the bike by mistake). If you don't know how to fix a puncture already learn how before you need to use your skills at the road side.

Plastic bag to cover the saddle in the event of rain.