Parts directly from Taiwan?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
unnamed

Parts directly from Taiwan?

Post by unnamed »

I'm looking to get some TRP disc brakes from FLeebay Taiwan, they're about half the UK price.
Am i gonna have to pay customs fees? Are they fakes?
Anyone been down this route before?
CHeers!
mattsccm

Re: Parts directly from Taiwan?

Post by mattsccm »

I have never been stung for fees. I suspect, may be wrong, that its not worth anyone's time and effort.
Copies. Now how can you tell? Possibly made in the same factory as the "originals" .
Wouldn't worry anyway. Its a lump of steel and even "good" ones can be warped a touch from new.
PH

Post by PH »

You're liable for import duty at I think 4.7% on everything inc postage, then 20% VAT on top of that, then the company delivering can charge for collecting and administration, which is usually around £8. How often this is collected I have no idea, my experience is that it does happen but not very often.
As for counterfeit goods, there's a risk when you buy from just about anywhere, though some outlets are more likely than others.
PH

Post by PH »

mattsccm wrote:Copies. Now how can you tell? Possibly made in the same factory as the "originals" .
Wouldn't worry anyway. Its a lump of steel and even "good" ones can be warped a touch from new.

I assumed they meant the calipers rather than the rotor, there's a fair bit I would want to be well made.
philvantwo

Post by philvantwo »

What happens if you need to send them back?
unnamed

Post by unnamed »

philvantwo wrote:What happens if you need to send them back?

I'm prepared to take that risk.
rmurphy195

Post by rmurphy195 »

An interesting question in the context of this thread: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=118491
Brompton, Condor Heritage, creaky joints and thinning white (formerly grey) hair
""You know you're getting old when it's easier to ride a bike than to get on and off it" - quote from observant jogger !
AndyK

Post by AndyK »