Relieving turbo tedium

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
ANTONISH

Relieving turbo tedium

Post by ANTONISH »

I avoid riding in snow or ice and during bad weather I've taken to using a turbo to try to maintain some semblance of fitness.
Like others I find the turbo mind numbing.
I thought of listening to music via an MP3 player - a device of which I have little knowledge - but seems conveniently wearable.
I believe music has to be downloaded to it - but how does one get the desired music? Much of the music available for download is not to my taste. ( not being down with the youth and still thinking of grime as being what I get on my bike during a ride).
Can I download a CD ?
Brucey

Re: Relieving turbo tedium

Post by Brucey »

most MP3 players connect to a PC via a USB cable. The computer should recognise the MP3 player as an external drive of some kind, even if it doesn't have proprietary software (for the MP3 player) installed. Just a question of copying pasting files/folders if the MP3 player is recognised as an external drive.

You can get your MP3 files via the internet or you can (with the right software, and obviously a disc drive on the computer) copy music from CDs onto the computer's hard drive in MP3 format.

One approach that works OK indoors is to get cordless headphones and to watch TV/listen to music that way. If you use corded headphones, there is a fair chance that there may be a static electricity problem with some turbos and (AFAICT) all rollers.

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
eileithyia

Post by eileithyia »