Getting used to Clipless Pedals

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
nayaksrinivasv

Getting used to Clipless Pedals

Post by nayaksrinivasv »

Hello Cycling UK Team Members,

This is my first post and I am new to clipless pedals. I have Broadman Hybrid Team Pedals but i dont know how do I get used to clipless pedals without a fall and without losing a limb. I have already had mine on the first ride(fortunately not so serious) but now trying to understand how to get used to clipless pedals.

Are there any ideas that will help? Like using only one side of the clipon etc etc?

Regards,

Srinivas
pjclinch

Re: Getting used to Clipless Pedals

Post by pjclinch »

Prop yourself against a wall and practice clipping in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out, and in, and out (I think you have the idea now)... Do that so you can easily (dis)engage on both sides.

When actually riding it's always good to be thinking ahead anyway, and your new pedals will heighten your abilities here as you think in advance of when you'll have to stop and get a foot out before you arrive. Practice makes... closer to perfect.

Most of us that have used clipless (or indeed clips and straps) have had a comedy topple-over every now and then, but you won't lose a limb, just a bit of pride. After a little while they're second nature and you don't really have to think about them.

Pete.
Often seen riding a bike around Dundee...
TrevA

Post by TrevA »

Practice by putting your bike against a wall, getting on, clipping one foot in, then lean against the wall and clip your other foot in, then practice clipping in and clipping out several times. Clipping in is a gentle stamping motion, clip out by twisting your heel outwards. You can also practice by riding on grass, so that if you fall off you won't hurt yourself.