Newbie question, which bike?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Chrismuzz

Newbie question, which bike?

Post by Chrismuzz »

Hi,
I would like to take up cycling but only at home on a smart trainer which would allow most of my family to participate using their own bikes. I am looking at two bikes and wondered if one would be better than the other for this. I have looked at a wahoo kickr to use this with along with Zwift.
Any help would be appreciated as I am completely new to this! Many thanks

The two bikes are a pinnacle laterite 3 with the following
Frame: 6061-T6 heat treated aluminium w/ double-butted tubes
Fork: Carbon blade, straight 1-1/8 alloy steerer w/ mudguard mounts
Front Derailleur: Shimano 105 5800 31
8mm band on
Rear Derailleur: Shimano 105 5800 11 speed
Number of Gears: 22
Shifters: Shimano 105 5800
Chain set: Prowheel Ounce 721, 50-34T, S/M - 170mm, L/XL - 175mm
Bottom Bracket: Prowheel BB-68 external threaded
Cassette: Shimano 105 5800 11-28T
Chain: KMC X11
Pedals: Supplied
Brakeset: Tektro R315 dual pivot, 57mm drop
Bar Tape: Pinnacle Cork
Handlebars: Pinnacle 6061 alloy 125mm drop, 80mm reach, width

And a Felt FR50

Frame: Felt Race Road SuperLite Custom Butted 6061 aluminum, Dynaform TIG-welded construction
Fork: Felt Race Road UHC Performance carbon fiber blades, ControlTaper 1.125|| - 1.5|| aluminum steer tube
Rear Shock: N/A
Headset: 51 - 61cm: FSA NO.38/42, 1.125|| - 1.5|| sealed cartridge bearing
Stem: Felt VariableAngle, ± 8°/16° rise, Ø31.8mm: 51cm = 90mm, 54 - 56cm = 100mm, 58=110mm, 61=120mm
Bars: Felt Ergonomic SL Road, short 65mm reach, 125mm drop, Ø31.8mm: 51cm = 400mm, 54 - 56cm = 420mm, 58 - 61cm = 440mmFelt VelvetGel Tape with 3M Reflective BaseFelt Bubble-Tech ||F Wing||
Front Brake: Dual pivot caliper
Rear Brake: Dual pivot caliper
Brake Lever: Shimano Sora
Front Mech: Shimano Sora clamp-on, Ø31.8mm
Rear Mech: Shimano Sora short cage
Shifters: Shimano Sora
Speed: 18