Flat(tish) route around Leicester?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Damo78

Flat(tish) route around Leicester?

Post by Damo78 »

Hi All,

Newbie here :)

I may have left it a bit late to ask this as I'm planning on going out on my bike early tomorrow morning, but I'm just wondering if there is anyone here who knows of any decent, flattish routes around Leicestershire which are ridable on a road bike?

I've got a few big rides coming up, including a Peaks Tour in 2 weeks time (about as far from flat as you can get :) ), and then a couple of weeks after that I'm doing the LOROS Leicester to Skegness ride.

Unfortunately I've been struck down with a bad cold for the last few days, which has also affected my chest and Asthma, which in turn has prevented me from training just as I was getting my fitness up and building my confidence for the peaks ride. Being in the middle of a great spell of weather and a bank holiday, the timing could have been better, and I don't want to waste the opportunity completely so would like to get out on the bike on a fairly simple route that won't take too much effort (just get my legs spinning a bit). I'm looking for 40-50 miles, with as few hills as possible.

Unfortunately from where I live, which is around the Bradgate/Charnwood area, every direction is hilly, especially if I want scenic, quiet and picturesque rather than City Centre.

I did find the Grand Union Canal route this evening which apparently goes all the way from Leicester to London, however looking at a few reviews (including on here) it looks like it's not suitable for a road bike (or certainly sections of it aren't). I do have a mountain bike, but would prefer to use the road bike.