Cycling Holidays UK

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
FirtreesinJune

Cycling Holidays UK

Post by FirtreesinJune »

Hello,

Could anyone personally recommend a great spot for a cycling holiday in the UK? Preferably as traffic-free as possible with good scenery. Coastal is a bonus! I am a novice, but my partner is an experienced cyclist- so trails/paths to suit mixed ability if poss. The internet is a minefield of information, and would rather go on personal recommendations...

Thanks in advance! :-)
hayers

Re: Cycling Holidays UK

Post by hayers »

Tarka trail in Devon - easy riding - lovely area.

Tissington and high peak trails - but not so coastal!
Paulatic

Post by Paulatic »

Dumfries and Galloway...coastal....hills and quiet roads if you stay off the A75 A76 A701
Whatever I am, wherever I am, this is me. This is my life

https://stcleve.wordpress.com/category/lejog/
E2E info
bogmyrtle

Post by bogmyrtle »

Where's your starting point?
A bike does more miles to the banana than a Porsche.
keyboardmonkey

Post by keyboardmonkey »

FirtreesinJune wrote:Hello,

Could anyone personally recommend a great spot for a cycling holiday in the UK? Preferably as traffic-free as possible with good scenery. Coastal is a bonus! I am a novice, but my partner is an experienced cyclist- so trails/paths to suit mixed ability if poss. The internet is a minefield of information, and would rather go on personal recommendations...

Thanks in advance! :-)

Road bikes? MTBs? Hybrids? How many days do you have? How far will you travel each day? Camping, B&B, pub, Youth Hostel or other? Hills or flat? Where do you want to start your trip? Are you limited to some particular areas?
FirtreesinJune

Post by FirtreesinJune »

Thanks everyone....:-)

@ Keyboardmonkey: Thanks for the delving- :)

I have a Hybrid Trek bike; my partner has both a mountain and road bike.

We have about 5-7 days