SPAMMER : Manchester to Scarborough trains with a bike

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
gvnbm2018

SPAMMER : Manchester to Scarborough trains with a bike

Post by gvnbm2018 »

I've not taken a bike in the train for about 25 years, but I might need to make a return trip from Manchester to Scarborough ln a few weeks.

Can anyone tell me if it is possible and give me some websites to book it all through?

All help gratefully receives as I am a novice in this area.

It was all free guards vans when I last did it.
Last edited by Graham on 27 Nov 2018, 10:32am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: This is a topic originated by a SPAMMER. Account now disabled.
Tiberius

Re: Manchester to Scarborough trains with a bike

Post by Tiberius »

It is possible to do Manchester to Scarborough, by train ,with a bike using

https://www.tpexpress.co.uk/?ds_rl=1206 ... S7EALw_wcB

Travelling from Manchester Victoria (right next to Manchester Arena...very central) directly through to Scartborough.

The absolute pain with Transpennine Express is that you have to book a bike space at least 24 hours in advance which screws up doing anything spontaneous. On the other hand, once you've booked it you are guaranteed the space. Trains can be busy Manchester to York but then they thin out as they trundle through to Scarborough.

HTH.... :)
bromptonrail

Post by bromptonrail »

And it is not unknown for late running TPEXPRESS services to terminate short at York or Malton , leaving passengers going east to catch next service, or those travelling from Scarborough to await the next train. Either way a delay of upto an hour is likely. “Failing Grayling” says there will be more York -Scarborough trains ..... next year!
No advertising please.
Chat Noir

Post by Chat Noir »