What to pack when riding my first road bike

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
ndwgolf

What to pack when riding my first road bike

Post by ndwgolf »

Guys I have just bought a new Trek Madone SLR7, and would like to know what you guys would recommend me taking with me in case if puncture or Di2 issue.
I've been riding my mountain bike for over two years now, mainly on the road and haven't really taken anything with me. I have heard that road bikes are prone to punctures so I guess spare tubes and a pump will be essential........anyway any advice will be much appreciated
Neil
eileithyia

Re: What to pack when riding my first road bike

Post by eileithyia »

No idea regarding Di2 but would certianly have 1-2 spare inner tubes. Tyre levers. Pump and or Gas cylinder (or 2). Multitool and a waterproof.
I stand and rejoice everytime I see a woman ride by on a wheel the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood. HG Wells
Brucey

Post by Brucey »

There are one or two things that very occasionally break which might stop you unless you are prepared, so you could usefully add to the items mentioned above.

1) chain breakage; not that uncommon with modern super-skinny chains. It is not a bad idea to carry a spare quicklink that will fit your chain (eg a KMC one). If your multitool already includes a chain tool you can use this to remove a broken link and then rejoin the chain using the quicklink.