I know I was stupid to buy it...but now?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
ibgarrow

I know I was stupid to buy it...but now?

Post by ibgarrow »

Hi
I'm 67, male, in NE England. Used to be fit, and have been attracted by the prospect of a way to regain fitness apart from gym sessions.
I'm a total novice at cycling!
I was also silly enough to be seduced into buying a 20-year-old bike because it was once a good bike. Unfortunately, it proved to be a bad idea, as any of you could have told me had I asked you, because:
A) things have moved on over the last 20 years-what was top-class then may well be run-of-the-mill now
B) a 20-year-old bike is old, and like me, things wear out.
C) it is unsuitable for my level of (in)expertise, ability, or purpose.

It's a '99-'01 Specialized S-Works M4 Road.
Spec here https://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/BikeSpecs.aspx?year=2001&brand=Specialized%20&model=S-Works%20M4%20Road although the colour scheme is like the '99 page

My local bike dealer has pronounced:
The frame may have been dented and filled
The rear wheel (Shimano R500) is cracking around the spoke nipples and is dinged
The chain is stretched
The stem bearings have play.
In short, I'd be throwing money at it, possibly to nil purpose.

So I'm debating whether to break it for parts to recoup my (modest) outlay
The derailleur gear, front chainwheel and brakes are Campagnolo Record, with Xenon QS levers.

Does anyone have any advice or opinion? (Apart from the universal condemnation)

And if I decide to take up cycling, then I shall buy a bike from a local dealer which is suited to my needs, ability and size!
After consulting you all, of course
peetee

Re: I know I was stupid to buy it...but now?

Post by peetee »