pedels and clips

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
kevin01041961

pedels and clips

Post by kevin01041961 »

Hi , can you help, I'm fairly new to cycling so I know this question people will be sick of but I have to ask, what's the best for me pedals and clip for road and trail? I have problems cycling as it is having had a road traffic accident some years ago , to be honest I'm scared stiff of falling as I have a new hip and two new knees,
To add to the problem I'm 6ft 8 tall size 14 shoe? so I don't want the tiny little clip type, I know its a hard question to ask but some advice please. believe me any common sense approach would be acceptable

My thanks
mjr

Re: pedels and clips

Post by mjr »

kevin01041961 wrote:to be honest I'm scared stiff of falling as I have a new hip and two new knees,

I'll probably get flamed for this, but surely it's not worth the risk of clips then?

FWIW, I still ride lots (often and sometimes 100ish miles in a day) but I stopped using clips years ago.
MJR, mostly pedalling 3-speed roadsters. KL+West Norfolk BUG incl social easy rides http://www.klwnbug.co.uk
All the above is CC-By-SA and no other implied copyright license to Cycle magazine.
NUKe

Post by NUKe »

Totally agree with MJR why do you want clips, A large flat MTB type pedal may be the better option for you.
NUKe

Post by reohn2 »

I too agree and would recommend DMR V8 flat pedal:- https://www.halfords.com/cycling/bike-p ... 4sQAvD_BwE
-----------------------------------------------------------
"All we are not stares back at what we are"
W H Auden
NATURAL ANKLING

Post by NATURAL ANKLING »

Hi,
I agree that MTB type pedals like r2 has posted are probably to look seriously at.
With pins you might like to consider what sole of shoe you have whether if the pins will stick out too far, moding them is relatively straightforward. (shortening)