Newbie asking for advice

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Ibrahim

Newbie asking for advice

Post by Ibrahim »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to cycling and was thinking of buying a hybrid bike for commuting. I was offered this one for 150 pounds. Someone told me it's heavy and not that good. What do you think? Any input will be much appreciated.

Thank you
Attachments
IMG_20190511_140557.jpg
IMG_20190511_140612.jpg
IMG_20190511_140625.jpg
IMG_20190511_140631.jpg
IMG_20190511_140636.jpg
mattsccm

Re: Newbie asking for advice

Post by mattsccm »

State of chain, rusty, suggests not much attention but some the bike looks as if it hasn't had much use. It's a cheapy anyway with real bottom of the range kit. Probably only twice that price new so in theory overpriced now but equally you could say it's bottomed out.
Despite my criticisms it would be fine for commuting etc as long as it's well maintained and probably given a once over now. Pay someone though and they will want to replace cables, break block and chain etc. Add labour and you could double its price which is not good value.
simonhill

Post by simonhill »

How far is your commute and what sort of roads or tracks?

Also you could check out The Big Bike Revival, which could help you smarten this bike up a bit ( Google it,).
Foxy

Post by Foxy »

Hi Ibrahim

It looks like a Ridgeback Velocity or similar. IMHO they are a lot better than the average Halfords bike and a quick Google search suggests they currently retail at c£400.
This looks like an older model - we had two in the family and they were fine for moderate riding, light touring and commuting; my son did a 500 mile tour on it. It had an aluminium frame, which wasn't too heavy, but didn't have much flexibility, and the equipment was quite basic but it was fine.

I would check three things:
1 It's the correct size - if it doesn't fit you, don't buy it.
2 How it feels of in terms of weight etc
3 Everything works