Ammaco CS250

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
capstain411

Ammaco CS250

Post by capstain411 »

I am new to biking. I want to try riding to work 3 days a week. Commute will involve some canal side and tarmac riding. I was browsing on facebook can see a local seller selling Ammaco CS250 for £75. Says just over a year old. No issues. Locks come with it...no mud guards which i would have preferred.

Is think a decent bike for occasional commute.

I am a marathon runner,so weight and exhaustion is not a real issue. I however dont want to inherit absolute rubbish, which sadly some of the posts paint of this brand.
peetee

Re: Ammaco CS250

Post by peetee »

I would say that if it has been looked after and is fully functioning that would be a good purchase. Do be aware though that if the gearing and chain are worn out you could spend that much again sorting it out. Best advice with any used purchase is to take someone knowledgeable. Condition is everything when on a budget.
The older I get the more I’m inclined to act my shoe size, not my age.
capstain411

Post by capstain411 »

All big fat petrol head friends like me. Any tips on what to look out for. The seller is a keen cyclist, I hope he will not sell me a dud bike.
peetee

Post by peetee »

If you spend a fiver and get a chain wear indicator that will get you some way to establishing the state of it. Also give it a test ride and if the chain slips or the gears crunch under pressure expect to pay for replacement as mentioned previously. The brakes should have good power and not feel mushy. Make sure the steering is smooth and doesn't clunk when you pull the brakes hard. Spin the wheels and check they are straight and run quietly.
The older I get the more I’m inclined to act my shoe size, not my age.
PT1029

Post by PT1029 »

Most Ammacos are pretty poor (I repair some at work...), with most having very poor quality cup and cone BB (crank) bearings.