How important is familiarity in choosing equipment?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
horizon

Post by horizon »

On another thread I was tempted to comment on the advantages of a front triple over the latest 1 x 11 set ups. But then I realised that (a) I have little knowledge of the new stuff and (b) I'm wedded to my 27 speed, bar-end shifter set-ups for reasons other than I think they are better.

I landed on this format (Shimano Deore 27 speed bar-end front triple) when I got back into cycling in the mid-nineties. I stick with it because it's familiar, it's what I got to know, it's what I have learnt to adjust, maintain and repair. Perhaps even more importantly, I can swap around between bikes, wheels and components knowing that everything will pretty much work. The same applies of course to brakes and gear shifters: I'm loathe to give up what I know. Inherent in this are friction shifters and cantilevers - they make everything else work (as far as I know).

I now do all my own maintenance but I'm no mechanic: I rely on painstakingly getting to know how to do something and then, maybe a year later, coming back to do the same thing in the same way with the same tools. I don't wish to adopt anything new, even if it is supposedly better.

So my question is: should I value familiarity over innovation? And is my inertia holding me back or making life easier?
When the pestilence strikes from the East, go far and breathe the cold air deeply. Ignore the sage, stay not indoors. Ho Ri Zon 12th Century Chinese philosopher
thelawnet

Re: How important is familiarity in choosing equipment?

Post by thelawnet »

depends dunnit

if the existing equipment meets your requirements and works well and is readily available at reasonable price there's no reason to change

Nowadays you can get a diverse selection of bikes with hydraulic disc brakes so if you learn that system then you can work with them all, so your system is but one choice.