Bad Knees and Bike Size

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
BikeBuddha

Bad Knees and Bike Size

Post by BikeBuddha »

Hello

I am brand new to touring. A friend lent me a 51 cm Koga world traveller, with a view to sell it for me for £1500.

I am 6ft, and from charts, seem to need a 57cm+ frame.

When riding bike my knees began to hurt and they are not good after 100 Km.

Is it the frame size? Do I just raise the seat post further? OR is the bike geometry just too small for me?

The bike is a few years old but not used much. It retails around £2000, and I am not sure this is a good buy at £1500. So, looking at dawes galaxy, the new Koga, or a Oxford Expedition. Bear in mind I have no experience of touring, and only began because my Achilles tendons do not allow me to go hill walking for the foreseeable future.

Thank you for any advice you can give.

Cheers
TrevA

Re: Bad Knees and Bike Size

Post by TrevA »

Yes the bike is far too small for you. I’m slightly taller than you and ride a 58cm frame on both my road and touring bikes. It’s not just the seat post height, you will too scrunched up on it. For seat height, your leg should be almost straight if you put your heel on the pedal at the bottom of the pedal stroke, whilst sitting in the saddle and you should just be able to just touch the ground with your tiptoes.

You probably had your seat far too low which is why your knees hurt. The bike is not suitable for you. It is for someone about 5ft 6in.

You could get a new Dawes Super Galaxy for around £1100. I would say the Koga is a bit overpriced for a secondhand bike.
Sherwood CC and Notts CTC.
A cart horse trapped in the body of a man.
http://www.jogler2009.blogspot.com
Tigerbiten

Post by Tigerbiten »

BikeBuddha wrote:When riding bike my knees began to hurt and they are not good after 100 Km.

Cheers

I've no idea on bike sizing since I ride a recumbent ......... :D