Stability issues – how to adjust

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
revirescot

Stability issues – how to adjust

Post by revirescot »

Hi,

I've just purchased a new bike – Triban RC520 – and I'm having a few stability issues.

I was between sizes due to short legs and long torso and ended up going with a medium. I think that has to be right as standover height would have been tricky otherwise.

I like the bike so far, but I do find myself feeling quite unstable on it, especially when turning. Is there anything I can adjust to address this? I'm thinking in terms of stem length, handle bar width and height, moving seat fore/aft etc?

I'm new to road bikes so partially I'm sure it's adjusting to a new riding position, but I think it's also to do with the mechanics of the bike vs my body shape/weight distribution.

Cheers,

P
Brucey

Re: Stability issues – how to adjust

Post by Brucey »

revirescot wrote: Triban RC520....

I was between sizes due to short legs and long torso and ended up going with a medium. I think that has to be right as standover height would have been tricky otherwise.

I like the bike so far, but I do find myself feeling quite unstable on it, especially when turning. Is there anything I can adjust to address this? I'm thinking in terms of stem length, handle bar width and height, moving seat fore/aft etc?

I'm new to road bikes so partially I'm sure it's adjusting to a new riding position, but I think it's also to do with the mechanics of the bike vs my body shape/weight distribution.

photos of you on the bike would make your riding position a bit clearer.

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
531colin

Post by 531colin »