Big and Tall Rider looking for a bike

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Hillkidstr

Big and Tall Rider looking for a bike

Post by Hillkidstr »

Hi I'm new to bike riding and would like to purchase a bike sadly I'm all the wrong size being 6ft 7 and weighing in at 150kg from the research I have done I think I am looking for a 29er hardtail and a XL frame? But apart from that I am none the wiser, I have around £1000 to spend on a bike and just looking for some guidance on which they think would be best suited to me.

Thanks
WOT

Re: Big and Tall Rider looking for a bike

Post by WOT »

I’ve been watching this for a while but it’s too big for me.

Frame for life, change / upgrade bits as needed.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/224098280571

I’m also keeping an eye on this which is also too big for me but I like the look of it.

http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewto ... 7&t=418546
roubaixtuesday

Post by roubaixtuesday »

Hillkidstr wrote:Hi I'm new to bike riding and would like to purchase a bike sadly I'm all the wrong size being 6ft 7 and weighing in at 150kg from the research I have done I think I am looking for a 29er hardtail and a XL frame? But apart from that I am none the wiser, I have around £1000 to spend on a bike and just looking for some guidance on which they think would be best suited to me.

Thanks

A hardtail MTB sounds like a good choice, though if you intend to be mainly on road other options or fitting slick tyres could be considered.

I'm 6'4" and even at my height it's hard to get frames which genuinely fit, so I think you've got quite a challenge on your hands.

I own a Whyte hard tail MTB XL size which is a bit small really but was exactly at your price point. However, most MTBs these days seem to come with very short stems (not sure why) so fitting a riser stem eg https://www.tredz.co.uk/.BBB-HighRise-M ... _60927.htm could get you a better reach and bar height for you.
greyingbeard

Post by greyingbeard »