Waterproof Trousers

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
iandusud

Waterproof Trousers

Postby iandusud » 12 Oct 2020, 1:23pm

My wife and I have decided to go car-less. We both use our solo bikes to commute, we ride our tandem together and in a bid to reduce car usage I built a cargo bike last year to do our family shopping. Our car has died and as we rarely use it we have decided to try going car-less. This raises a number of challenges which we aim to find solutions to. However in this instance I would like advice about waterproof trousers. I have been cycling regularly for over 40 years and in that time my adopted method for dealing with wet weather has been to use a good jacket to keep my core warm and dry and not to worry about the legs either wearing cycling shorts or tights depending on temperature. This means changing when I get to work which is not a problem or just riding with wet legs on leisure rides which has never troubled me. However as I am now using my bike for more general use, where I might have jumped in the car if it was raining heavily I will now be using a bike. It is nice to be able to ride in normal clothes and not have to change and in dry weather I usually wear a pair of lightweight walking trousers for such journeys, either with the legs rolled up or tucked into my socks. This means that I'm attending a meeting I look like a normal person! (Others might not agree). The problem arises when it's raining. I've never liked cycling in overtrousers which is why I adopted the above method years ago. So are there suitable waterproof trousers that would meet the criteria of being suitable for cycling in and looking normal enough for everyday wear? I've looked at Rohan's website and seen their Dry Frontier trousers but at £125 they're going to have to earn their keep. So what do others do?

Cheers, Ian

rotavator

Re: Waterproof Trousers

Postby rotavator » 12 Oct 2020, 2:01pm