Used or New - Not sure which bike to buy?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
londoncyclist007

Used or New - Not sure which bike to buy?

Post by londoncyclist007 »

Hi everyone

I am just getting back to cycling and looking to get fit after COVID due to gaining a few pounds :-)

I will be commuting 6 miles round trip daily in London and my budget is £200-500. I prefer a hybrid and like a comfortable ride, but don't mind a road bike with drop bars. Shall i .....

1) Buy a New bike that has warranty from decathlon, Halfords etc
2) Buy a used bike from gumtree ebay etc might be better quality parts etc from a name brand

I have found the following 2 bikes online

https://www.evanscycles.com/brand/coyot ... ike-933060

https://www.halfords.com/bikes/hybr...k ... 46198.html

Can someone give me some advice? Especially if i go down the used route, how to make sure i am not buying a stolen rusty bike as i am not an expert, maybe link me to checklist of what to look form when meeting up with the gumtree seller? Any brands, quality to look for etc

Hope someone can help

Cheers
londoncylist007
hamster

Re: Used or New - Not sure which bike to buy?

Post by hamster »

It's a dilemma isn't it?

If you aren't confident buying secondhand then don't. However a third way is worth consideirng - secondhand from a bike shop. That way it will have been inspected and be fully roadworthy, and you have some comeback against the seller too.
Jdsk

Post by Jdsk »

Welcome.

Do you intend to service it yourself?

Jonathan
simonhill

Post by simonhill »

It may well be a case of what you can get, rather than what you want.

There are 2 posts on here at the moment that may interest you. One on poor quality of Halford's workmanship and the other on shortage of new bikes due to Covid and transport problems.

Unfortunately availablity will only get worse as summer approaches.