Anti-seize grease

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
danfoto

Anti-seize grease

Post by danfoto »

My tube of Copaslip grease has now finally expired, and it occurs to me to replace it with the white equivalent that seems to be always used nowadays to prevent seizing of ally seatposts in steel frames and suchlike.

Can anyone please recommend a readily-available brand of just such a grease?
A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.
richardfm

Re: Anti-seize grease

Post by richardfm »

I've used Coppaslip since I was an apprentice 40 years ago. It would never occur to me to use anything else as an anti-seize grease.
Richard M
Cardiff
danfoto

Post by danfoto »

richardfm wrote:I've used Coppaslip since I was an apprentice 40 years ago.

So have I, onlyin my case that was 50 years ago. But I don't want Copaslip now. I want the white stuff :)
Last edited by danfoto on 31 Mar 2021, 7:58pm, edited 1 time in total.
A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.
markjohnobrien

Post by markjohnobrien »

Loads of really detailed threads on grease/ anti seize already - Brucey started an outstanding one previously.
Raleigh Randonneur 708 (Magura hydraulic brakes); Blue Raleigh Randonneur 708 dynamo; Pearson Compass 631 tourer; Dawes One Down 631 dynamo winter bike;Raleigh Travelogue 708 tourer dynamo; Kona Sutra; Trek 920 disc Sram Force.
TheBomber

Post by TheBomber »

I’ve used Shimano LokNot for about 20 years on bikes. Think they now just call it anti seize grease. I bought it because I believed Coppaslip was designed for steel against steel and was unsure whether using copper between alloy and steel was wise. I’ve no idea if that is true or an issue, but the Shimano stuff certainly works well. Quite expensive but lasts decades. And it is white. :D
Last edited by TheBomber on 31 Mar 2021, 8:00pm, edited 1 time in total.