Internal rim hole damage on new wheels

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
bakaman

Internal rim hole damage on new wheels

Post by bakaman »

Hi, three wheels bought mainly for use on steel tourer converted to gravel bike. On delivery, every inner spoke hole is damaged presumably because a wheel-build robot's nipple insertion holder was too large. As an engineer, I feel that it is only a matter of time before one of the cracks grows to total failure, caused by alternating spoke tension at the top of its rotation and rim bead expansion at the bottom of its rotation. This is not mentioning the sharp edges on the cracks that would abrade rim tape and eventually damage inner tube, and small parts of alloy that may detach and rattle around between the walls.

I am awaiting a response from the retailer, having asked for them to be returned, and won't build them up.

Has anyone else seen this type of damage? I am normally an A319/LX or XT man on my touring bikes, and CXpro/105 on my lighter bikes. These are single eyeletted double wall, with 36 hole Champion spokes on Shimano TX hubs. Heavier wheels than I'd normally ride, rims rated for this type of use, and when shod with heavy-ish offroad tyres I thought that the weight and agricultural nature of the wheels would be a reasonable compromise for what is a bit of a beater. The new wheels were deliberately chosen as cheaper wheels that I didn't care too much about treating them harshly on rough gravel.
Photos are available here:https://photos.app.goo.gl/yeS4UgR1XFemHh826
PhilD28

Re: Internal rim hole damage on new wheels

Post by PhilD28 »

Punched holes, they will tell you this is now normal and perfectly acceptable. Like you I'm an engineer and know it is a likely source of crack propogation.
I don't accept them like this and no longer buy rims from manufacturers who claim this is normal, it may be their normal but it isn't mine. Unfortunately it's becoming increasingly common.
Vorpal

Post by Vorpal »