Cordless Compressors

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
iandusud

Cordless Compressors

Post by iandusud »

I have a long term problem with one of my wrists that has flared up again and it makes using my track pump very difficult. I am thinking of getting a cordless compressor. Does anyone have any experience of using one with bike tyres? I'm looking specifically at a Makita DMP180Z as I already have Makita LXT 18v batteries and charger and I find Makita tools to be very good.
simonineaston

Re: Cordless Compressors

Post by simonineaston »

I've no experience, but I agree Makita tend to be a good buy, being on the whole, tough and effective tools. I see the bare tool (no battery / charger) is available at around £50 here in UK, although I have a vague memory that the OP is based in France. see here
S
(on the look out for Armageddon, on board a Brompton nano & ever-changing Moultons)
Nigel

Post by Nigel »

Max pressure from the device is around 120psi. So, unless you're track-racing, its more than enough. The control allows the required pressure to be set before pumping up the tyre, so the correct pressure is easily achieved. There appears to be a scale covering PSI and Bar (the more common scales for tyre pressures).

For your needs, it sounds ideal. Price seems good if you have the required batteries around from other devices.

- Nigel
thirdcrank

Post by thirdcrank »

No experience of this but a query like this tends to have me looking at Amazon reviews and similar. From their, I get the impression that some users have been caught out by different versions of the LXT battery so I'd recommend checking that carefully. My general doubts about using inflators not specifically targeted at bike tyres is whether they can cope with high pressures but the reviews seem to suggest that this one is better at small volume high pressure than large volume low pressure applications.
Mick F
Spambuster

Post by Mick F »