cleared payments

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Jim

cleared payments

Post by Jim »

Hi Everyone,
Advice please. I have a table booked at a cycle jumble, and although most items will go for cash, I'm also taking 2 complete cycles. Anyone know what types of payment are cleared immediately? Not being a trader I don't have a card reader. I guess bank transfers are OK but I think may take a few hours to show up on my account. I have a Paypal account but I think clearance is not immediate (but I may be wrong). Any advice welcomed.

Jim
Norman H

Re: cleared payments

Post by Norman H »

What sort of value are we talking about?

I think you're probably overthinking things. Anyone seriously looking to buy a bike should have come prepared with the necessary cash. A degree of trust is required on both sides but you could always take a small deposit and have them pay the balance when the bike is collected.

I shared a bike jumble table with a friend a while back and he was selling a bike for around £300. A single customer bought several smaller items from us and was also very interested in the bike but by then had run out of money. He lived fairly local, having cycled to the event, and we agreed to deliver the bike and his other purchases to his home address and he withdrew the cash on his way home.

PS. Some friendly advice if you're new to this sort of thing. Most people at bike jumbles are pretty decent folk but resist the temptation to sell cheaply to “professional” traders before the general public have had an opportunity to view.
Tiberius

Post by Tiberius »

In the last year I have sold two bikes. Both buyers paid me by bank transfer on their phones whilst they were in my garage. Both transactions showed up on my phone banking app' almost immediately.

Just to add. I got the buyers to transfer £1.00 before the full amount simply to make sure that everything would work tickety boo when they sent the balance, which it did.