Trailers-Anyone have any information or experiances

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Design Student

Trailers-Anyone have any information or experiances

Post by Design Student »

Hi Everyone, I am a 3D Design student at University. I am currently working on a project which promotes cycling and public transport. I have been researching into bicycle trailers. However I have very little experience using them. Does anyone own, use or commute with a trailer. What are the biggest pros/cons with the designs. What puts you off buying one is it the price, image or style? What is the best design one/two wheels? Do you use your trailer for shopping. Have you got any thoughts or opinions about evolving the design? Any information would be really useful thank you.
Mick F
Spambuster

Post by Mick F »

Hi Design Student, and welcome to the forum!

The best/easiest thing is to check out these links to posts on these pages:
http://forum.ctc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?t=14609
http://forum.ctc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?t=3201
http://forum.ctc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?t=14786
http://forum.ctc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?t=9903

There are more!

Also study
http://www.carryfreedom.com/info.html

As you can gather, I'm a trailer fan. I went shopping yesterday.
I bought an aluminium box for mine.
http://forum.ctc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?t=16398

Good luck with your project.

By the way, I've just deleted your other two posts elsewhere on the forum. Please don't post duplicates, it tends to annoy!

Regards,
Mick.
GeoffL

Post by GeoffL »

This seems to have been posted to four forums, perhaps a mod would like to rationalise this?

To answer the OP's question:
I use a trailer mainly so that my wife and I can take our dog with us on rides of more than ten to fifteen miles or those that involve roads open to motor traffic. It also doubles as a cargo trailer that I occasionally use for shopping, carrying stuff to the recycle centre, etc.