Hit by a car on one way street

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Vicc

Hit by a car on one way street

Post by Vicc »

I'm new to cycling and in order to take a short cut I rode up a one way street unknowingly in the wrong direction this morning. There was a car waiting to join the one way system at an adjoining road and as I passed in front of it the driver hit me. I now realise that I wasn't obeying the code and shouldn't have been riding up that road in the wrong direction. I've hurt my leg and shoulder slightly, but my bike is a complete right off as it went below the car. The man who hit me said he would pay for it, but I'm beginning to think I'm the one who's in the wrong and therefore it's my problem.

The facts are :- I was riding up a one way street in the wrong direction on the left hand side of the road. The man in the car didn't look both directions when pulling out onto the one way street.

Have I any rights?
2Tubs

Re: Hit by a car on one way street

Post by 2Tubs »

Vicc wrote:I'm new to cycling and in order to take a short cut I rode up a one way street unknowingly in the wrong direction this morning. There was a car waiting to join the one way system at an adjoining road and as I passed in front of it the driver hit me. I now realise that I wasn't obeying the code and shouldn't have been riding up that road in the wrong direction. I've hurt my leg and shoulder slightly, but my bike is a complete right off as it went below the car. The man who hit me said he would pay for it, but I'm beginning to think I'm the one who's in the wrong and therefore it's my problem.

The facts are :- I was riding up a one way street in the wrong direction on the left hand side of the road. The man in the car didn't look both directions when pulling out onto the one way street.

Have I any rights?

Not really.

You might argue that he should've been looking.