Total Beginner (Newcastle Upon Tyne) Needs Help!!

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
jebus197

Total Beginner (Newcastle Upon Tyne) Needs Help!!

Post by jebus197 »

Hi, I am a complete beginner at cycling. I want to use cycling as a means of getting fit, as I have been unfit for quite a while. However I know nothing of any local bike routes, and am really nervous about riding on roads etc.

Can anyone recommend any useful contacts, or bike routes (I'm not looking to be too ambitious at all to start with, but would like to build up gradually), or any groups in my area that would be suitable for someone like me? I'm probably not even all that much use at reading the route maps to be honest.

There is a CTC group in my area, but they don't have an email address and they only have rides on Tuesdays, which doesn't make all that much sense to be honest, as like most people I work on Tuesdays.
minkie

Re: Total Beginner (Newcastle Upon Tyne) Needs Help!!

Post by minkie »

For routes have a look at opencyclemap or sustrans on the web. Local councils also do maps with safe cycle routes for their area - often these are on the web too.
Good luck with it - a lot of people on these boards have started from scratch and got massive benefits over quite a short time.
jebus197

Post by jebus197 »

Well any more personal recommendations would be good too. Lol. Learning how to make sense of the routes would be good - and of course it's always useful to do these things with other people. (Beginners groups etc).
NUKe

Post by NUKe »

jebus197 wrote:
There is a CTC group in my area, but they don't have an email address and they only have rides on Tuesdays, which doesn't make all that much sense to be honest, as like most people I work on Tuesdays.

You probably find they are like many of the groups were fairly fairly vibrant in 19 dot dot. Stop encouraging new members and are all growing old together wondering why no one wants to join.