Can't cycle very fast downhill

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
chucknorris

Can't cycle very fast downhill

Post by chucknorris »

Hi everyone,

I'm not only new here, I'm new to cycling. I like to run to keep myself fit but after continuingly injuring myself I have recently started cross training by cycling 2-3 times a week. At first this was only to avoid running too much but now I am beginning to get into it and enjoy it as much as running. However I am quite green as to the technical details of cycling.

I have become aware (or at least this is what I think, I maybe wrong) that my bike is not geared correctly. I have two bikes an old Giant border alu lite and a Dahon Espresso. I recently switched the tyres of the bikes (putting slicks on the Giant bike) with the intention of using the giant bike to commute to work and leaving it at the station (it's quite old so hopefully wouldn't be anyone's first choice to steal). I find the bike good for inclines but downhill the gearing is all wrong, I find that the pedals go around too fast for me to cycle any faster. I might be using the wrong terms here (if so please correct me) is this down to the 'chain set'? Do I need to buy another bike or is it possible to change the chain set for something that would still allow me to cycle fast uphill but also faster downhill?
Ayesha

Re: Can't cycle very fast downhill

Post by Ayesha »

Hi,

Pedaling a too fast 'Cadence' is called 'spinning out'. You must be going a fair whack to spin-out on even a MTB.
When this occurs, its best to let gravity pull the bike down the hill and give the legs a well earned rest; unless, that is, the bike is a fixed wheel.

Are you sure that wasn't a Giant Boulder MTB? 42 tooth front to 14 tooth rear is quite high for a MTB. 42/14 = 3, 3 x 26 = 78 in inch gear which is a comfortably high gear for declines.