Where to buy a bicycle?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
AlastairS

Where to buy a bicycle?

Post by AlastairS »

Hi, I have a Dawes Galaxy touring bike which I use to commute to work (6 miles each way). I'm thinking of buying a lighter bike to make my commute easier (then I could use it more days per week rather than each alternate day).

I am thinking of a road bike or maybe an audax bike or something else (open to suggestions).

I was wondering, where do I buy a bike?
I know you should use your LBS and I will certainly consider them 1st, though they are likely to be dearer than from an internet store or elsewhere. I know of course LBSs should be supported and I would certainly give my LBS the business should there not be a large difference in cost. I'm new to the cycling scene. I've heard of Wiggle and Ribble. Are these places worthwhile for bicycles ? Is there somewhere else ?

Alastair
al_yrpal

Re: Where to buy a bicycle?

Post by al_yrpal »

Decathlon - great bikes, great value

Al
Reuse, recycle, thus do your bit to save the planet.... Get stuff at auctions, Dump, Charity Shops, Facebook Marketplace, Ebay, Car Boots. Choose an Old House, and a Banger ..... And cycle as often as you can......
Jonty

Post by Jonty »

You need a lighter bike than a Dawes Galaxy in order to commute 6 miles?
You can't be serious.
jonty
martin biggs

Post by martin biggs »

everybody always says Galaxy's are great for that kind of work , so why do you want to change it ?
Big T

Post by Big T »

Lots of cheap internet shops - Chain Reaction, Planet X to name but two. Trouble is you can't try them out before you buy.

If you're near an Evans store, they usually have a decent selection of road bikes and if there's something special you want, they can order it in for you.

Halfords Boardman range is also worth consider, as very good VFM.