Ride with GPS

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
spanner1718
Posts: 30
Joined: 4 Jun 2008, 10:24pm
Location: Letchworth Garden City,N.Herts

Ride with GPS

Postby spanner1718 » 12 Jan 2012, 9:32pm

Regarding recent posts about mapping and gps software,i have been using http://ridewithgps.com/ and have found it to be very easy to plan rides and to download turn by turn info to my Garmin 705. I especially like the "straight line " button which you can use to follow minor roads which cross dual carriage ways without the software directing your line up to the nearest roundabout and back as many other mapping products seem to do (when i use them anyway!). Do any other forum members use this particular one and what do you think to it?.

Manx Cat
Posts: 1438
Joined: 6 Feb 2008, 9:37am

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby Manx Cat » 13 Jan 2012, 4:04pm

I found this site myself at Christmas, discovered it when my favourite of all road mapping sites - Bikehike, was down.

I must admit for a free site, you get a lot of stuff. Easy to use. You can 'own' your area as you can build a profile etc. You can use it for fitness, or sharing GPS info. Its a very good site, bright and colourful.

I have managed to download GPS files onto it very easily, but so far I have not found out how to upload into my GPS unit - Im sure there's a way, Im just stupid when it comes to using the computer + Gps unit.

Aushiker
Posts: 323
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 9:29am
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby Aushiker » 14 Jan 2012, 2:43am

spanner1718 wrote:Do any other forum members use this particular one and what do you think to it?.


Yep; find it quite good. I am using it for planning out the route for my Dreaming Tour. I have also used for Audax rides BUT find that the cue-sheet needs to careful checking/editing. It can come up with some odd turns (e.g., turn left when you have mapped a right turn).

Other than that pretty happy with it.

Andrew

User avatar
Audax67
Posts: 4528
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 9:02am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby Audax67 » 14 Jan 2012, 7:45am

http://www.openrunner.com offers the Cloudmade engine as well as Google. Cloudmade can calculate routes specifically for cycling, something Google can't do outside the US.
Have we got time for another cuppa?

De Sisti
Posts: 745
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 6:03pm

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby De Sisti » 14 Jan 2012, 4:09pm

@Spanner1718, How many waypoints per route does your 705 support? Do you have to number the
waypoints, as you have to do in Mapsouce? With Mapsource If you have lots of waypoints in Mapsource,
it navigates through them in an alphabetical manner.

I've just created an account but used it in anger yet.

JohnCKirk
Posts: 114
Joined: 27 Jun 2010, 12:39am

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby JohnCKirk » 15 Jan 2012, 3:23pm

I used to use Bikely, but they revamped their interface recently so I'm looking for alternatives. I've tried RideWithGPS, but either I'm missing something obvious or I plan my routes in a fundamentally different way to everyone else.

My standard approach is to start out with the bits I know (e.g. start/end point) then fill in the details by adding/removing/dragging points. For instance, I'm currently planning a trip around the Isle of Wight, so I want to do a few quick clicks to follow a loop around it, then zoom in to deal with cycle routes (Sustrans RR67) and BCQ checkpoints.

Using RideWithGPS, I've set up the basic loop but I can't see any way to insert new points. If I try clicking somewhere new, it draws a line from my previous end point, and I can't see any "undo" or "delete" option. Also, it keeps adding lines from Cowes to Southampton each time I reload the page! So, am I just being thick here?

De Sisti
Posts: 745
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 6:03pm

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby De Sisti » 15 Jan 2012, 3:57pm

JohnCKirk wrote:
Using RideWithGPS, I've set up the basic loop but I can't see any way to insert new points. If I try clicking somewhere new, it draws a line from my previous end point, and I can't see any "undo" or "delete" option.


Image

JohnCKirk
Posts: 114
Joined: 27 Jun 2010, 12:39am

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby JohnCKirk » 15 Jan 2012, 4:18pm

Thanks! I'm not sure how I missed that "Undo" option... However, the "Clear Map" button will delete everything rather than a particular point.

De Sisti
Posts: 745
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 6:03pm

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby De Sisti » 15 Jan 2012, 4:38pm

@JCK,

I'm going to give Ride With GPS a run for its money, to see if it's as good as Tracklogs or Mapsource.

jamesofyorkshire
Posts: 308
Joined: 14 Jul 2007, 11:39am

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby jamesofyorkshire » 15 Jan 2012, 5:49pm

I use connect.garmin.com to map a ride and load it to my 705.

hazecellar
Posts: 79
Joined: 21 Feb 2011, 9:27pm

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby hazecellar » 15 Jan 2012, 7:24pm

dont know quite what you are looking for but - bikeroutetoaster website seems to be brilliant for plotting routes and you can save them to gpx then open in mapsource - only just started using it myself and it has roughly plotted a route thru france what looks good but yet to be checked

User avatar
fossil
Posts: 585
Joined: 15 Aug 2008, 11:54pm
Location: Bognor Regis by the sea !

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby fossil » 15 Jan 2012, 11:15pm

I use Bikehike , there are no adverts like on other sites , and you can upload /
download them to your garmins

Ayesha
Posts: 4192
Joined: 30 Jan 2010, 9:54am

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby Ayesha » 16 Jan 2012, 7:40am

Question.
What maps have you got loaded on your Garmin 705?

jamesofyorkshire
Posts: 308
Joined: 14 Jul 2007, 11:39am

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby jamesofyorkshire » 16 Jan 2012, 8:41am

I started off with the North America map....as I bought my 705 in the States.......when I came back to Europe last Autumn, I bought the 2012 Europe map.

Reigncloud
Posts: 127
Joined: 2 Mar 2011, 2:00pm

Re: Ride with GPS

Postby Reigncloud » 17 Jan 2012, 1:33pm

+1 for bikeroutetoaster. Have planned and executed three or four tours with this, porbably totalling nearly 8,000 km. The interface is clear and to the point, and if you don't want it to authoroute you can switch this on and off at will.