Know someone with same bike since their youth?

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
bmoo

Know someone with same bike since their youth?

Post by bmoo »

Hi all,

I'm a researcher at Ethical Consumer magazine (http://www.ethicalconsumer.org) and (to my delight) our upcoming issue will feature a buyers' guide to bikes.
We're keen to show both people's longstanding passion for cycling and the fact that if you buy a quality bike it can last you a lifetime.

Has anyone out there owned and ridden the same bike since their youth, or know anyone who has?
If so, we'd like to include a short profile on them in the magazine, including past and present pictures pictures of them/their bike, if possible.

If this sounds like you or someone you know, please get in touch!

bryony[at]ethicalconsumer.org
[XAP]Bob

Re: Know someone with same bike since their youth?

Post by [XAP]Bob »

Not since youth necessarily - but there are a fair few frames around here older than their owners, and a fair few that have outlasted most other vehicles on the road - particularly handbuilt ones...
A shortcut has to be a challenge, otherwise it would just be the way. No situation is so dire that panic cannot make it worse.
There are two kinds of people in this world: those can extrapolate from incomplete data.
gaz

Post by gaz »

I've been on the same bike since I could afford a decent one at age 18. Of course it's had more tyres than I can mention, numerous wheels, many sets of gears, three new frames....

But it's still the same bike :wink:
High on a cocktail of flossy teacakes and marmalade
ambodach

Post by ambodach »

Depends what you mean by youth. I still have and still use from time to time my old Flying Scot which I bought new when aged about 20 some 57 years ago. Frightening how time flies.
michael42

Post by michael42 »

bmoo wrote:Hi all,