Cycle to Work - one-man company

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
nosmarbaj

Cycle to Work - one-man company

Post by nosmarbaj »

Hi - one for any tax accountants out there ...

I am an IT contractor with my own limited company of which I am the sole director and employee. I do my own accounts. I'm thinking of buying a new bike, and if I can save some tax by using the Cycle to Work scheme that's just fine by me.

Am I right in believing that my company can buy a bicycle and provide it to its employee (me), with no tax liability?
I would expect it would be a capital purchase by the company, depreciated over (say) 3 years, after which I would buy it from my company for a fair market price (there are HMRC guidelines available as to what is a fair price).
The company would provide it as a (non-taxable) benefit, therefore no loan involved, therefore no upper price limit of £1K.

Is there anything wrong with this scheme? (I know I could pay an accountant for advice, but IME those that deal with small companies generally don't know about Cycle to Work, and anyway the fees would eat up most of the potential tax saving.)

Thanks
whoof

Re: Cycle to Work - one-man company

Post by whoof »

The size of the company does not matter but the employee must receive a salary under PAYE.
http://www.cyclescheme.co.uk/employers/employer-faqs
nosmarbaj

Post by nosmarbaj »

Hmm - I do pay myself under PAYE, but I don't think it's relevant as there is no salary sacrifice involved.

The salary sacrifice schemes mean the employer saves some NI and the employee saves some income tax and NI, while reimbursing the employer. So it costs the employee something, but less than the after-tax amount, and it costs the employer nothing (and indeed they gain a little). A salary sacrifice clearly requires there to be a salary in the first place.