teach my son cycling

General cycling advice ( NOT technical ! )
Bikebarbie

teach my son cycling

Post by Bikebarbie »

we are a really keen cycling (mtb) family but need help with teaching our 6 (and 1/2) years old son how to cycle.

Does anyone know of any instructors in Kent?

Thanks Miriam
drossall

Post by drossall »

I've no personal knowledge, but try the CTC site, especially the right-hand links on that page.
stevew

Post by stevew »

Hi Miriam,

See you have found your way here. It's a good forum and will help you I'm sure.

Does anyone know where to find a good written description of the pedal-less technique for teaching kids ?

I think this alone could be the answer.

Regards
SW
drossall

Post by drossall »

I assumed that Miriam was looking for cycle skills rather than basic balancing.

On balancing, Bicycle Victoria have a page, and there is a good piece of real experience in the Guardian. There's more on QuickRelease.tv. Kids vary - my son was off stabilisers at 3 1/2, but his sister was less keen to try it and took till 6 1/2.
MLJ

Post by MLJ »

I taught my son to ride by supporting the saddle: he could not tell when I let go of it! The pedalless method is to lower the saddle and remove the pedals, effectively turning the cycle into a 'hobby horse'. This allows steering, braking and balance to be learnt naturally as the child scoots with both feet on the ground. Later the pedals are restored and the saddle gradually raised to the correct height.
Jones

Teaching children to ride

Post by Jones »