Accreditation experience

For discussions within the Cycle Training profession.
Si

Accreditation experience

Post by Si »

A question for you NSIQs out there - how many hours of delivery experience do you think that the average NSIP needs (roughly speaking) before doing their accreditation and being let loose to instruct solo?
Lance Dopestrong

Re: Accreditation experience

Post by Lance Dopestrong »

You should never teach solo. You should have a safety officer assisting you.
MIAS L5.1 instructor - advanded road and off road skills, FAST aid and casualty care, defensive tactics, SAR skills, nav, group riding, maintenance, ride and group leader qual'd.
Cytec 2 - exponent of hammer applied brute force.
Vorpal

Post by Vorpal »

Well, it somewhat depends on the NSIP. I've met instructors I don't think should ever be let loose alone :shock: And others that I would have trusted immediately after taking their instructor course. I think I had been teaching Bikeability for almost 6 months before someone came round to observe & certify me. I might have taught 20 level 1 & 2 courses with various other instructors at that point.

I think that most people probably need to teach at least three level 1 & 2 courses so maybe a minimum of 20 hours?
“In some ways, it is easier to be a dissident, for then one is without responsibility.”
― Nelson Mandela, Long Walk to Freedom
Si

Post by Si »

Yes, that's my sort of thoughts. I'm just wondering if I'm being a little too over cautious about a scheme that is attempting to fast-track some instructors through. Two on the course are already cycling coaches so I can see them having few problems, but two more don't really ride that much!!
pjclinch

Post by pjclinch »

Lance Dopestrong wrote:You should never teach solo. You should have a safety officer assisting you.