Getting people involved

For discussions within the Cycle Training profession.
Sven P

Getting people involved

Post by Sven P »

Hi folks... new on this forum :)

My question is . ... how does one get adults to join in on beginners or easy coaching sessions.. basics and having fun..

I run them for free in our neighbourhood, we have no shortage of new cyclists around here but no one seems particularly interested in coming along. The club has no problem getting kids involved but the grown up side of things is a bit of a flop.
I run discipline specific sessions that have at least got a few in but that is a bit easier, ie cyclo cross..

I'm not running the sessions via CTC, I'm a level 2 BC coach, [ yeah I know.... ] doing a ABCC level 3 course to do one-one fitness coaching etc but I do want to do stuff for local cycling to promote it and make it more enjoyable.

I have even tried running really easy club rides but with few takers, ha .. one or two have joined,, got fit and moved on to doing longer faster rides but have not been replaced..

cheers, Steve.
Vorpal

Re: Getting people involved

Post by Vorpal »

Welcome.

I had the most success with adults, billing rides as 'health rides' and putting notices up in the local surgery and village co-op. One of the GPs recommended them to a few of her patients, as well.

It depends on lots of theing... What do you define as really easy? The definition might be different to someone who hasn't been on a bike for years.

I got a few folks who hadn't been on bikes in 30 years. I was very gentle with them, let them decide when they'd had enough, and didn't do anything but check their bikes and give them encouragement the first couple of times out. One very overweight lady worked her way up from a 1 mile ride to 14 miles with a stop for tea. And even though 14 miles was nothing for me, it took a lot of hard work for her to be able to do that, and she had every right to be proud of her accomplishment.