Fungi identification

Use this board for general non-cycling-related chat, or to introduce yourself to the forum.
Cugel

Fungi identification

Post by Cugel »

Just lately I've been taking close-ups of the fungi springing up in Brechfa forest and elsewhere hereabouts, usually when dog walking. I'm a novice at macro photography and bereft of the expensive lenses, bellows and other gubbins traditionally employed. Instead I use a-one o' them remarkable modern digital cameras of the compact variety. The one I have is an Olympus TG4 which is a weatheproof item also having something called a microscope mode.

This microscope mode is a series of abilities enabling various kinds of macro photography without the expensive lenses et al. It allows the lens to come very close (1cm) to the subject yet still focus. It has focus stacking (varies the initial focus slightly then combines the in-focus parts of ten pics taken rapidly one after the other). It will perform in-camera magnification at various degrees up to 11X.

There are compromises; and it's not all that easy to use for various ergonomic reasons. But it can take photos that are of a reasonable, if not the best, quality for someone not looking for "professional" results.

But I ramble.

Fungi are fascinating structures but not easy to identify without picking them to get spore sprints or put the spores under a microscope. One may consider their shape, colour, habit and so forth and make an educated guess. Perhaps some of you can make guesses more educated than mine? Here's a few to start:

Sep 12 fungi-18.jpg

Sep 12 fungi-10.jpg

Sep 12 fungi-5.jpg

Sep 12 fungi-4.jpg

Sep 12 fungi-3.jpg

Any ideas? Which ones should I cook for tea? :-)

Cugel
“Practical men who believe themselves to be quite exempt from any intellectual influence are usually the slaves of some defunct economist”.
John Maynard Keynes
Mick F
Spambuster

Re: Fungi identification

Post by Mick F »

I had a similar thread Dec 2011.
viewtopic.php?t=58205