Flu 'jab'

Use this board for general non-cycling-related chat, or to introduce yourself to the forum.
simonineaston

Flu 'jab'

Post by simonineaston »

So, it was like this: 10:15 Saturday, tiny 'scratch', no symptoms 'till mid-afternoon, when left arm began to feel slightly stiff. By evening, my left arm was aching a lot, but only when I moved it. By Sunday morning, ache nearly all gone. No other symptoms. Am now looking forward to a flu-free winter...
S
(on the look out for Armageddon, on board a Brompton nano & ever-changing Moultons)
millimole

Re: Flu 'jab'

Post by millimole »

I had mine on Wednesday morning - first time.

Injection very high up almost into my shoulder joint, which hurt like stink - but I'm a brave little soldier and didn't flinch.
On Thursday & Friday I had 'flu like' symptoms - aching joints and muscles plus being very fatigued. I took paracetamol which helped a bit, but on Friday evening I decided on my normal 'cold cure' and had an extremely hot bath. Saturday morning I felt as right as rain, but four hours at the allotment, I must admit, left me completely whacked!

Yes, I'll have the vaccination again next year, because a couple of days of inconvenience is far better than a life threatening illness.
Leicester; Riding my Hetchins since 1971; Day rides on my Dawes; Going to the shops on a Decathlon Hoprider
Cowsham

Post by Cowsham »

Had it once 28 years ago -- took a bad flu haven't had it or flu since. I seldom take colds either but I think I'll take the flu jab this year cos I've been told you can take flu and have covid19 on top of that cos it's not a flu it's a cold type virus.
I am here. Where are you?
Audax67

Post by Audax67 »

It's a bit early in the season for it: the antibodies it engenders could well have died away by March, but the flu will still be with us. In France we're still waiting for our freebie coupon.
Have we got time for another cuppa?
thirdcrank

Post by thirdcrank »