Calling all 'Baby Boomers', A change in life

Use this board for general non-cycling-related chat, or to introduce yourself to the forum.
AlanD

Calling all 'Baby Boomers', A change in life

Post by AlanD »

Good morning all. I would like to address all the 'Baby Boomers' and 'Young at heart' among you, on a subject that affects us all in our lives. And no, it does not involve little blue pills.

There is an aspect of professional life that I would like to explore, but which I have never seen discussed; that of preparation for end of working life and entry into retirement.

I enjoy my career, it is probably the best job that I have ever had. Yet retirement is now only months away and I am not sure how I am going to deal with it? I am not speaking of pension or money and do not need financial advice.

I am a professional engineer and a member of the IET. Without an employer to pay for it, my membership will probably be allowed to lapse, so also my Union membership. Will I have need for them when I am no longer working?

Thanks to Covid, I have been working at home for 18 months now and devoid of face to face contact with my peers in the office; Teams is a poor substitute. This has shown me that knocking around the house all day and being under The Wife's feet brings it's tensions. I had considered delaying retirement, just to continue working and give me that 'sense of direction' ; but as The Wife correctly points out, our health is not guaranteed and I need to slow down so that we can enjoy our time together.

But how do I prepare for change? Sitting on committees, taking up golf or standing behind the counter of a charity shop are not for me. I have done school mentoring, Cubs and amateur dramatics. I have my interests, I am an avid Model Railway enthusiast and live where there are no shortage of beautiful places to explore on my bike, but I cannot do that all of the time. The thought of endless box sets sounds like slow death. We will not be having any more pets.