Can You Cook & When Did You Learn?

Use this board for general non-cycling-related chat, or to introduce yourself to the forum.
francovendee

Can You Cook & When Did You Learn?

Post by francovendee »

Reading MickF's thread on food waste made me think about cooking.
I lived at home with my mother until getting married. I had never learnt to cook and my wife did the cooking and I did the washing up.
We parted some years later and for the first time I had no one cooking my my meals.
After a short time living on toast and baked beans I thought I'd better start to learn to cook.
To say I didn't have a clue sums it up.
I remember one of the first things I tried was frying eggs and bacon. The bacon was fine but I'd fried the egg on a high heat and the white was crisp.
I found that I enjoyed cooking and although I'm a basic cook I do 90% of the meals.
My speciallity is curry and among the ex pats our invites to dine are well received.
al_yrpal

Re: Can You Cook & When Did You Learn?

Post by al_yrpal »

Yes, I learned about 30 years ago when my Mrs broke her ankle and couldnt stand in the kitchen. I was running my business at that time and found cooking after work very relaxing. In our new marriage I still do most of the cooking but Eileen is a very traditional eater and fancy or foreign food is not her favourite. I dont usually cook curries from scratch because of the availability of excellent preprepared sauces. I did write down a list of what I can cook...

Bolognese
Chilli con Carne
Liver and Bacon
Chicken Raz al Hanout sweet potatoes
Mushroom rissoto
Fish Pie
Lamb Chops
Pork Chirozo and chick peas
Steak and chips
Pork chops
Sausage and Pasta
Sausage and lentil lash up
Curry with sauce
Cottage Pie
Shepherds Pie 
Aldi Thai Fishcakes
Nice Pies
Chicken new potatoes and salad
Hake with rice
Beef Florentine
Lamb Tagine
Roast beef dinner
Corned beef hash
Pizza
Lasagne
Paella
Tomato soup
Carrot and red lentil tomato soup
Potage bonne femme
Belly Pork
Duck
Sausage and Mash