Introductions - tell us about yourself

Use this board for general non-cycling-related chat, or to introduce yourself to the forum.
Tony
Posts: 408
Joined: 28 Jan 2007, 2:48pm

Postby Tony » 24 Jan 2008, 4:24am

Bored at work, so thought I'd expand on this for those who know me not.
Real name.....yes, really.
Will be 50 this year, on some audax-type thing
Speaker of multiple lingoes but living in Surrey, well away from Wales
Bikes: Galaxy, tandem, Sardar, Marin mtb, Spesh road bike, Scott hybrid.
Status: just about divorced.
Habits: cycle touring and birdwatching. And real beer.

Sample of what I like:
http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/?o=3 ... =3244&v=7E

monster
Posts: 117
Joined: 3 Feb 2008, 3:47pm

Postby monster » 3 Feb 2008, 4:09pm

name: matthew

scientist atm but will be changing jobs soon.

i ride an electric bike and i can safely say that i would not be a 10 mile a day cyclist if it wasn't for that little extra battery power that gets me around. i don't own a car anymore because i was so confident with the electric bike. i like hybrid or touring style bikes because they are good in heavy traffic.

age: 27

have girlfriend not married

User avatar
Mick F
Spambuster
Posts: 50951
Joined: 7 Jan 2007, 11:24am
Location: Tamar Valley, Cornwall

Postby Mick F » 3 Feb 2008, 5:00pm

Hi everybody!

Welcome!!!!
Mick F. Cornwall

User avatar
The Jazz
Posts: 190
Joined: 1 Nov 2007, 12:36am
Location: Baldock, North Herts

Postby The Jazz » 4 Feb 2008, 2:27am

Ok, my turn..

Real Name - Richard.
Age 41
Married with 4year old twin daughters (one called Jasmine, hence the forum name).
Got a Westie too, hence the avatar.

Occupation - Telecomms manager

Planning LEJOG in June. Jasmine is also a LEJOG wannabe and, she tells me, so is her teddy.

Bikes - Dawes Audax Sport and Dawes discovery 301 (used for trying to keep up with my 4 year olds - Blimey, they are fast on those little Barbie bikes).

Sat on a Dawes Super Galaxy on friday and want one.

As passionate about fishing as I am about cycling, much to my wifes annoyance - both time consuming past-times.

Dislikes - none really (except those bl**dy postmen driving like maniacs to start their shift in Stevenage at 5am and not giving a second thought to anyone else on the road at that time). Grrrr.


Likes - lots, but particulary impressed with the advice given out on this forum. Very good indeed.

User avatar
gaz
Posts: 14162
Joined: 9 Mar 2007, 12:09pm
Location: Kent, lorry park of England

Postby gaz » 4 Feb 2008, 7:58pm

Welcome to the nuthouse.

The Jazz wrote:Got a Westie too, hence the avatar.


P.S. I've not even got a wheelie bin
There'll be tarmac over, the white cliffs of Dover ...

User avatar
The Jazz
Posts: 190
Joined: 1 Nov 2007, 12:36am
Location: Baldock, North Herts

Postby The Jazz » 5 Feb 2008, 12:32am

Cheers Gaz

Gaz wrote:
P.S. I've not even got a wheelie bin


Maybe you have a camping stove then, Gaz ?

User avatar
gaz
Posts: 14162
Joined: 9 Mar 2007, 12:09pm
Location: Kent, lorry park of England

Postby gaz » 5 Feb 2008, 2:20pm

The Jazz wrote:Maybe you have a camping stove then, Gaz ?


Yeah, converted from meths, just like me.
There'll be tarmac over, the white cliffs of Dover ...

User avatar
The Jazz
Posts: 190
Joined: 1 Nov 2007, 12:36am
Location: Baldock, North Herts

Postby The Jazz » 5 Feb 2008, 10:53pm

The Jazz wrote:
Maybe you have a camping stove then, Gaz ?

Gaz wrote:
Yeah, converted from meths, just like me.


Gaz - Ha ha - gave me a chuckle on the way in to work...You lot are dead posh down there in Kent.

JQ666
Posts: 621
Joined: 15 Jan 2008, 4:05pm

Postby JQ666 » 7 Feb 2008, 12:23pm

Real Name: Jonny

Occupation: Mortgage Adviser

Age: 34

Nationality: English (to a Scotsman), British to everyone else. Live in Bristol.

Status: Married, 1 daughter (2 years old) and another child on the way (due in May)

Bikes owned: Kona Jake (my commuter steed) and Specialized Hardrock (my first bike as an 'adult', now fitted with Kona P2 rigid forks, front mudguard, and rear rack and used for taking the 'scenic' route in the Summer)

Pastimes: Cycling, Running (doing the London Marathon in April for Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation: http://www.justgiving.com/jonathanquigleymarathon), re-living my childhood through my daughter.

Highlight of Cycling Career: Getting out of the car and onto a bike!

Interesting Fact: Antarctic winter sea ice is expanding (according to some 'experts').

charlieandjody

'ello there

Postby charlieandjody » 12 Feb 2008, 4:25pm

Hello there. Just joined the forum to gain some cycling knowledge (hopefully) as myself and my partner will be embarking on a tour from Cherbourg to Sicily in August of this year. The two of us are sharing this account so I've provided both people details...

Our real names: Charlie / Jody

Age: 25 / [censored] she'd hurt me if I told you

Occupation: Production Manager / Researcher
(Both soon to be leaving our jobs for the tour though)

Favourite colour: don't have one / not sure

Bikes: Still deciding which one / Giant CRS 4

Status: Together!

Not so interesting fact: Once stood on Ian McKellen's foot / Is a Kiwi

Website: http://jandcadventure.blogspot.com - our journal of the tour(s) to come.

Hi everybody!

JoanL

Postby JoanL » 15 Feb 2008, 9:01am

Sounds like a lovely plan! Once you're fit, 100 miles a day will seem easy, though if you are carrying a lot of stuff, on a hilly section, perhaps a bit less would be better. At 20 miles a day you'll have a huge amount of time for sightseeing.

You'll have a great time.

meekychuppet
Posts: 29
Joined: 15 Feb 2008, 2:27pm

Postby meekychuppet » 15 Feb 2008, 2:41pm

Hello everybody. Here is my short & skinny:

Name: Adam

Occupation: Student/writer

Location: Lancashire.

Cycling chronology:

Bike # 1: Raleigh Firefly, £30, second hand.
Bike # 2: Diamondback GT 10, £200
Bike # 3: Carrera GT, Free off my Pa.
Bike # 4: Scott Speedster S50, £500, wrecked in a collision.
Bike # 5: Scott CR1 - £1300, my current bike.

The Scott CR 1 has the following attachments: 2 x bottle holder, 2 x LED rear lights, Hope LED super duper lights, mounted for my HTC TyTN II phone with GPS.

I commute to university a minimum of twice a week, 42 mile round trip and I also ride it to football and other activities. My oldest son Jake has one and my partner also has a bike. When Luca is old enough (4 months right now) he'll get one too.

I am training for the Iron Man - I was hoping to enter in 2009 but the aforementioned collision that took care of my Speedster might alter that.

I am the safest cyclist I know, to the point where I recently tore a strip off another cyclist for blatantly ignoring a red light - the reason drivers hate us. I am also in recovery after a car accident that wrecked my bike and injured me so if anyone wants to bitch about young drivers I am the man to assist.

Nice to meet y'all.

User avatar
Deckie
Posts: 737
Joined: 8 Feb 2007, 8:58am
Location: Helston, Cornwall

Postby Deckie » 21 Feb 2008, 12:13am

Update time:

I'm moving to Cornwall at the end of the month to join my wife! A new job based in Truro becons, as do many more outings on our tandem.

We've also invested in a trailer - an Extra Wheel from Poland (Poles seem quite populal, or at least numerous in Cornwall...). Seem v. good so far. A few shopping trips with it tow should tell for real.

Stay tuned!

User avatar
bigjim
Posts: 3231
Joined: 2 Feb 2008, 5:08pm
Location: Manchester

Postby bigjim » 22 Feb 2008, 10:03am

Hey! Low Plains Drifter.
Why aren't you writing a book?

Jim :)

Lawrie9
Posts: 1011
Joined: 4 Oct 2007, 11:23am
Location: Powys, Wales, UK

Postby Lawrie9 » 24 Feb 2008, 4:27pm

Not going to say anything about myself thus preferring to maintain my aura of mistique.