First cycle tour

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
Phileas

First cycle tour

Post by Phileas »

In the long term I intend to cycle JOGLE but before I do that I want to get some touring experience so I'm thinking of doing a 3 or 4 day tour starting and returning to Bristol.I'd like to do something scenic and I'm ok with hills.

So I'm wondering if anyone can recommend routes which could form all or part of such a tour. Alternatively could someone point me to online planning resources.

My cycle fitness is excellent from 20+ years of "furious" cycle commuting, but I'm not thinking of doing particularly long stages, I just want get a feel for the logistics of cycle touring.

I would almost certainly stay in b & b - I have plenty of experience here as I do a lot of long distance walking.
andymiller

Re: First cycle tour

Post by andymiller »

NCN West Country Way from say Temple Meads to Chew Magna and on. Train back from say Bridgwater or Taunton?

Go to cycle.travel for maps etc etc
simonhill

Post by simonhill »

I think part of the fun of any tour is working out the route.

First thing is, is there anywhere you want to go?

Even if not, I'd get something like a good road atlas, roughly work out the sort of distance you want to do and then build a route. You can usually see the smaller roads and also work out where you will get your r&r.

If using maps, OS landranger are good and often available from your local library. They may be too detailed and bulky to carry, but you can use them for planning. They show the national cycle routes, places of interest and have contours - what more could you want.

From Bristol you have got lots of choice and my guess is that you will get a lot more satisfaction out of a route you plan.
Kernowboy

Post by Kernowboy »