'Sit up and beg' touring bike

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
crgirdlestone

'Sit up and beg' touring bike

Post by crgirdlestone »

Hi guys,

I'm planning on riding from Santiago, Chile up to Costa Rica and am looking for a touring bike. I'm not a bike enthusiast, and so don't know if this is a feasible idea, but when I have ridden them in the past I have found 'sit up and beg' style bikes extremely comfortable. I'm not looking to break any records and am not concerned with speed, and I think I may actually cover more distance over the days if i'm more comfortable.

I'm a graduate with little money and so want to spend as little as possible. Does anyone know of an affordable 'sit up and beg' style bike that could bear the burden of a cross-continental tour?

Cheers,

Charlie
hamster

Re: 'Sit up and beg' touring bike

Post by hamster »

How far have you ridden on the 'sit up and beg'? You end up with a lot of weight on your backside and what's comfortable for 5 miles on a summer's day is not so good for 60+ laden miles on bad roads.

That said, tourers are more upright in stance compared to fast road bikes. You will need a very tough bike for that route as it has a lot of unsurfaced roads as far as I know. A secondhand 1990s steel MTB frame could be a good starting point and would have the kind of stance you want.
pjclinch

Post by pjclinch »

Take any other bike you like and trade the handlebars for something higher and more swept back than usual flat bars, and that will probably be most of what you need. Look up "trekking handlebars" and you can probably find something that gives an option of a bit more aero as well.

Pete.
Often seen riding a bike around Dundee...
Norman H

Post by Norman H »

Welcome to the Forum Charlie.

crgirdlestone wrote:
I'm a graduate with little money and so want to spend as little as possible.